Hall of Leaders

Established in 2001, the Hardin-Simmons University Hall of Leaders provides for permanent recognition of graduates, former students, and former employees who have distinguished records of achievement and proven themselves as men and women of good character. It is located in the Elwin L. Skiles Social Science Building on the first-floor circular corridor. The Hall of Leaders was made possible by a generous gift in 2001 from Inez Kelley of Houston, Texas, and her late husband, Dr. Doyle Kelley.

2019 Dr. William Oswald Beazley, Jr. University Administrator – Minister View Bio
2019 Cydney Melinda Mizell Servant Leader – Teacher View Bio
2019 Pete Ondeng Economic Development Strategist – Author View Bio
2019 Cynthia K. Pearson Non-Profit Executive – Community Leader View Bio
2018 Ivan I. Smith, Jr. Business Owner – Community Leader View Bio
2018 Elta Joyce McAfee Philanthropist – Community Leader View Bio
2018 Bruce Evans Corporate Executive – Volunteer View Bio
2018 Dr. Elwin L. Skiles Pastor – University President View Bio
2017 Hon. Samuel J. Carroll, III Military Leader – Judge View Bio
2017 Pauline M. Richardson University First Lady – Professor View Bio
2017 Dr. H. K. Neely University Administrator – Theologian View Bio
2017 Linda C. Carleton University Dean – Community Leader View Bio
2016 Harry T. Bradley Public Servant View Bio
2016 James E. Porter Educator, Public Servant View Bio
2016 Lucile Gilbert Sandefer First Lady of Hardin-Simmons University View Bio
2015 Dr. Bertie Kingore Professor and Education Innovator View Bio
2015 Honorable John G. Hyde District Judge and Community Leader View Bio
2015 Hilton Hemphill Investments Executive and Christian Leader View Bio
2014 Dr. George Newman Professor, Public Servant, Rancher View Bio
2014 Johnnie Lou Avery Boyd Professional and Community Leader View Bio
2014 Mary C. Hardin Benefactor View Bio
2014 Samuel Phillip Wilson Public Servant and Business Leader View Bio
2014 John G. Hardin Benefactor View Bio
2013 James Magee Parker B.B.A. 1951 View Bio
2013 Commodore Vanderbilt Wood Jr. Ex 1939 View Bio
2013 Ann Margaret (Smith) Coody B.A. 1959 View Bio
2013 Shirley Ann (Narmour) O’Dell B.A. 1953 View Bio
2013 Bobby Dan Davis Blocker Ex. 1946 View Bio
2012 Charles Wesley Logsdon Jr. B.A. 1929, HSU Trustee View Bio
2012 Delma Dale Haralson BBA 1959, HSU Trustee View Bio
2012 Koreen Willcox Logsdon Hemphill Student 1926-1932 View Bio
2012 Judge Clifton Mott Caldwell HSU Trustee 1919-1965 View Bio
2012 Gene Adams BBA 1954, MA 1962, HSU Trustee View Bio
2011 Jesse Coleman Hunter Jr. Mayor of Abilene, Oilman, Rancher, Ex 1934 View Bio
2011 Col. (Ret.) L. Bryan Shelburne Jr. Leader and Commander of the U.S. Army Band, BM 1965 View Bio
2011 Krivin Kade Legett Judge, Attorney, Civic Leader, Founder and Charter HSU Trustee View Bio
2011 Koma Beryl (Mahler) Fields Church and Community Leader, BA 1940 View Bio
2010 Roy C. Crane Jr Cartoonist, Ex 1919 View Bio
2010 Virginia (Randel) Burroughs Servant Leader, BA 1950 View Bio
2010 Robert M. Wagstaff Attorney/Legislator, BA 1913 View Bio
2009 William P. “Dub” Wright Oil Executive, Longtime HSU BOT Chair View Bio
2009 Helen Jean (Bond) Parks Missionary, BA 1948 View Bio
2009 James B. Simmons HSU Benefactor, Pastor View Bio
2009 Daniel Yeary Pastor, BA 1961 View Bio
2008 John Powell Clayton Department of Religion Chair, Boston University, BS 1964 View Bio
2008 Marion B. McClure HSU Cowboy Band Director, BA 1933 View Bio
2008 Moxley Featherston Federal Judge, BA 1935 View Bio
2008 Jack T. Martin Head Basketball Coach, Lamar University; Texas Air National Guard Brevet Brigadier General, BS 1948 View Bio
2008 Consuelo Castillo Kickbusch US Army Lieutenant Colonel (Retired), Motivational Speakers, BS 1976 View Bio
2008 Nita Brooks Lewallen Cowgirl Hall of Fame, Ex 1943 View Bio
2007 Dr. Peter James Flamming Pastor, BA 1955 View Bio
2007 George S. Anderson HSU Trustee 1903-1964 View Bio
2007 Maridell (Fisher) Fryar Teacher/Administrator, BA 1957 View Bio
2007 Dr. Jesse Conrad Fletcher HSU President Emeritus, Community Leader, Church Historian, and Author View Bio
2007 Dr. Lee Hemphill Pastor, HSU Vice President, BA 1929 View Bio
2007 Dr. William E. “Bill” Thorn Dallas Baptist University President Emeritus and Motivational Speaker, BA 1948 View Bio
2006 Dr. Betty Pearce Stephenson Anesthesiologist, BA 1947 View Bio
2006 Dr. Willis Whitfield Physicist, BS 1952 View Bio
2006 Dr. Truett Latimer Former State Representative, Film Producer, and Former President of the Houston Museum of Natural Sc View Bio
2006 O.C. Pope West Texas Church Founder and HSU President 1898-1901 View Bio
2006 Dr. Francis McBeth Composer Laureate of Arkansas, BM 1954 View Bio
2006 Frank Junell Noted West Texas Civic Leader, BA 1934 View Bio
2005 Gordon Wood Texas High School Football Coach, BS 1938 and MEd 1952 View Bio
2005 Katharyn Duff Journalist, BA 1936 View Bio
2005 Joe Black Golf Pro, Ex 1955 View Bio
2005 Glen Burroughs Oil Industry Executive, BA 1949 and MA 1950 View Bio
2005 Oscar Henry Cooper 5th HSU President 1902-1909 View Bio
2005 Julius Olsen HSU Dean, 1902-1942 View Bio
2004 Virginia (Boyd) Connally Physician, 1933 View Bio
2004 David Scott “Scotty” Holland Oil Executive and Geologist View Bio
2004 John Hanna Brewer Microbiologist, 1930/1932 View Bio
2004 Marijohn (Melson) Wilkin Musician and Song Writer View Bio
2004 Willie Leo Scott Adjutant General of Texas, 1947/1949 View Bio
2004 Dossie Marion Wiggins University Administrator, 1919 View Bio
2003 Fess Elisha Parker Jr. Actor, Ex 1947 View Bio
2003 Dr. Jefferson Davis Sandefer Sr. HSU President 1909-1940 View Bio
2003 William Tippen Texas Congress and Texas Senate, 1943 View Bio
2003 Dr. Dellanna (West) O’Brien Baptist Women’s Missionary Union, 1953 View Bio
2003 Zollie Coffer Steakley Texas Supreme Court Justice, 1929 View Bio
2003 Dr. Henry Bryce Jordan Pennsylvania State University President, 1942 View Bio
2002 Maye Bell Taylor Missionary, 1929 View Bio
2002 John Leland “Lee” Atwood North American Aviation, Inc., 1926 View Bio
2002 Jefferson Davis Sandefer Jr. Oil Industry, 1920 View Bio
2002 Holman Jenkens Law Firm, Jenkens and Gilchrist, 1938 View Bio
2002 Omar Truman Burleson U.S. Congress, 1926 View Bio
2002 Sid W. Richardson Philanthropy, 1912 View Bio
2002 Eugene Holman ExxonMobile Corporation, 1916 View Bio
2002 Conrad Ramsey Lam, M.D Cardiac Surgeon, 1927 View Bio
2002 Clyde “Bulldog” Turner Pro Football Player, 1940 View Bio
2001 F. Earl Ingerson Geology, BA 1928; MA 1931 View Bio
2001 Mildred Paxton Moody First Lady of Texas, 1917 View Bio
2001 Rupert H. Johnson Investment Banking, BA 1922 View Bio
2001 Rupert N. Richardson Hardin-Simmons University, 1912 View Bio
2001 Ruth Legett Jones Philanthropy, BA 1913 View Bio
2001 W. Hines Sims Church Music, 1928 View Bio
2001 W.B. Irvin Education, BA 1921; MA 1927 View Bio
2001 George Herman Mahon U.S. Congress, BA 1924 View Bio
2001 William Thomas Reid Northwestern University, 1926 View Bio
2001 Charles P. McLaughlin Baptist General Convention of Texas, BA 1941 View Bio
2001 Carl Coke Rister University of Oklahoma, 1915 View Bio
2001 A.B. “Stormy” Shelton Harte-Hanks Communications, Inc., 1937 View Bio