Cynthia Ann Parker Endowed Presidential Scholars Program

The Cynthia Ann Parker Endowed Presidential Scholars Program is established to ensure scholarship funds for the recruitment and retention of students that demonstrate a high desire and ability to succeed in any of the disciplines of the College of Liberal Arts. Individuals selected for the Cynthia Ann Parker College of Liberal Arts scholarships are to be identified as the Cynthia Ann Parker Scholars.

Four awards are granted each year to an entering first-year or transfer student, providing $4,000 a year ($2,000 for each of the fall and spring semesters) for up to four years of study at Hardin-Simmons University. While the scholarship can be initially awarded only to first-time beginning or transfer students to any of HSU’s undergraduate programs, the scholarship award can be renewed in subsequent years (up to four total years) for students who continue their academic work by pursuing graduate work at HSU.

To be eligible for this scholarship award, entering first-year students should have a successful high school performance history, demonstrated by achieving a high school graduation ranking within the top 25% of their high school graduating class. Transfer students should have a 3.0 or better college-level grade point average (GPA).

Applications are due by March 1 and must include two letters of recommendation: one from the applicant’s pastor and one from a teacher familiar with the applicant. Application information for this scholarship should be submitted through HSU’s Scholarship Central.

Applicants must declare an intention to major in one of the following areas at HSU:

  • Art
  • Christian Studies
  • Criminal Justice
  • English
  • History
  • Music, Music Business, or Worship Leadership
  • Psychology, Health Psychology, or Human Computer Interaction
  • Social Work, or combined Social Work and Psychology
  • Strategic Communication
  • Theatre

All applicants will be reviewed by a committee comprised of the Cynthia Ann Parker Chair and Dean of the College of Liberal Arts, an at large faculty member in the Cynthia Ann Parker College of Liberal Arts, and the President of Hardin-Simmons University.

Students awarded the scholarship must maintain a 3.0 or better GPA and major in one of the academic disciplines specified above to qualify for the continued awarding of this scholarship.