Logsdon School of Theology Awards for 2023

May 22, 2023

The Logsdon School of Theology in the Cynthia Ann Parker College of Liberal Arts at Hardin-Simmons University recognized several of its outstanding Christian Studies majors of 2023.

Braxton Weaver shakes President Bruntmyer's hand at graduation.

Braxton Weaver at graduation.

Braxton Weaver received the prestigious Logsdon School of Theology Award.  This award is presented to the Logsdon graduating senior who best reflects the ideals of the Logsdon School of Theology, including excellence in scholarship.  The Logsdon School of Theology faculty chooses the recipient.  This award has traditionally been considered by the faculty to be its highest award for comprehensive achievement and all-around fitness for ministry.

In addition to this graduation award, several returning Logsdon students were recognized for their outstanding academic progress.

Austin Seekins was awarded the Kelly Pigott Endowed Scholarship in Church History/Theology.  Highlighting the need of mentoring relationships, this scholarship encourages students in their pursuit of excellence in historical and theological studies.  In addition, Austin Seekins also received the Hancock-Potter Award for Vocational Ministry.  Reflecting the Logsdon experience, this award recognizes a Baptist student who has a commitment to vocational ministry, excellence in academics, and an understanding of historic Baptist principles.

Grant Mitzelfelt was awarded the Gordon Clinard Endowed Memorial Scholarship.  Recommended by the faculty of the Logsdon School of Theology, the recipient of this scholarship is identified as a Clinard Scholar during the next year.

Madison Lewis was awarded the Judge Zollie Steakley and the Ruth Butler Steakley Endowed Memorial Scholarship.  This scholarship continues the support of Logsdon students in their academic excellence.

Avery Pardue was awarded the Ben and Anne Bentley Endowed Scholarship in Ministerial Studies.  Preserving the memory of the Bentleys, this scholarship enables the continued support of students seeking education for ministry.