Irvin School of Education Awards Over $150K in Scholarships to Students

The annual Irvin School of Education scholarship and awards banquet gives out over $150K in scholarships.

April 6, 2015 Cheryl Sawyers

Sixty different endowed scholarships were awarded to 86 students equaling a total of $155,125, on the evening of April 6, 2015. Scholarships were awarded to students in the Fitness and Sports Science, Counseling and Human Development, Education, and Doctorate in Leadership departments. Some of the donors were even present for the reception.

Kit Rhea, Junior education major from Houston and a scholarship recipient, said, “I was able to spend time with my scholarship donors last night after the reception and it was wonderful! I loved getting to know the people who have blessed me immeasurably by investing in my education.”

Among the awards given to student teachers was the Education Deans of Independent Colleges & Universities of Texas (EDICUT), Educator of the Year Award.  This award is given to the student teacher that shows strong promise of becoming an outstanding effective teacher in his/her content field. Cody Herrera, education major from Lipan, Texas, was presented the award for his demonstration of both sound knowledge of his content field and exemplary pedagogy.

Herrera said, “It was truly an honor and blessing to receive this award. I have been fortunate to have been a part of HSU the last 4 1/2 years, and the school of education has helped me become successful for the teaching world.”

The Hardin-Simmons University, Student Teacher of the Year Award was established by Dr. and Mrs. W. B. Irvin as a cash award for the School of Education.  The cash award is to be presented to an outstanding student teacher selected on the basis of intent to teach, scholarship, attitude and personality traits essential to quality teaching.  This year’s $1700 cash award went to Rachel Franklin, education major from Stanton, Texas. 

Franklin said, “I am overwhelmed with gratitude to be picked for this award by Hardin-Simmons’ finest professors and am humbled by their confidence in me. I feel blessed that I was chosen for this award.”

Dr. Pam Williford, Dean of Irvin School of Education shared her sentiments about the scholarships, “We feel so grateful that we have had so many donors to endow so many scholarships for the Irvin school of Education.”

For more information about the Irvin School of Education see