HSU Honors Student Scholarship and Award Recipients

May 14, 2018 Grace Mitchell, Staff Writer

Every spring, students of various schools and colleges are honored for outstanding achievement in their field of study. Hardin-Simmons is proud to recognize our students’ academic excellence with awards and scholarships.

Kelley College of Business

The Kelley College of Business Queen’s Awards Program was held on April 5. The Texas Society of CPA’s Outstanding Junior Scholarship in Accounting Award was presented to Jenna Van’t Land. The Texas Society of CPA’s Accounting Excellence Award was awarded to Kristina Stasser. Chandler Livingston won the Manual Flores, Jr. Business Policy Award.

Joseph Warrix was awarded the John Wood Award in Business Ethics. Kylen Williams was given the W. Willard Pratt Endowed Scholarship in Business and Leadership. Roy Slade Cupps and Chris Patao won the Dean’s Award, and Kristina Stasser won the Koreen and Lee Hemphill Outstanding Service Award. The Delta Mu Delta Outstanding Educator of the Year Award was presented to Dr. Doug McIntyre. The Ruby A. and Jesse N. Fletcher Award for Outstanding School of Business Student went to Chase Crenwelge.

Psychology & Counseling

Psychology and Counseling students were recognized on April 10. The Wilson Scholarship recipient was Hanna Anaya. The Debra M. Pearson Scholarship was awarded to Jenny Shaw, Emma Tidwell, and Madison Wommack. Cassandra Robertson was given the James & Bobbie Dean Duncan Duck Scholarship.

The Undergraduate Service Award was given to Tori Williford, and the Research Award was given to Samuel Rosenblad. The Graduate Research Award went to Zachary Cave, and the Service Award to Rachel Schalk. The Ray & Pat Johnson Scholarship was awarded to Mynista Burnett-Bradley, Alysssa Sucrese, and Samuel Gomora.

College of Fine Arts

The College of Fine Arts Honors and Awards Celebration was held on April 17. Honors music students performed pieces before the awards were given. Miranda Zepada was given the Music Business Award. Emily Caporale was given the Presser Scholar Award. The Best of Show winner of the 2018 Student Art Compeititon was Jinghan Ma. Numerous endowed music scholarships were awarded.

HSU Theatre students who participated in the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival were also recognized. The Irene Ryan Nominees for Excellence in Acting were Kristen Pickop and Michael Kelly for their performance in Godspell. Dakota Medlin and Tia Brown advanced to the Semifinal round with their performance from The Wedding Singer.

English Department

The English Department Awards Reception was held on April 19 followed by a poetry reading by the English faculty and the Advanced Creative Writing students. The Ruth Ann Burton Memorial Scholarship was given to Haley Boatright, Kandace Donald, Grace Mitchell, and Daniel Ooi. The Fairy Orr Memorial English Scholarship was awarded to Jasmine Sauceda. Paige Lesley was awarded the E. A. & V. Endowed Presidential Scholarship.

Irvin School of Education Scholarship Reception

The College of Human Sciences and Educational Studies (Irvin School of Education, School of Kinesiology, Health and Recreation, and the department of Counseling and Human Development) awarded 71 scholarships to 120 students on April 23rd. The scholarship amounts totaled $378,870.

Three awards announced at the end of the reception honored student teachers. Shelby Barton received the Education Deans of Independent Colleges and Universities of Texas Educator of the Year Award. Conlan Aguirre received the W.B. Irvin Outstanding Secondary Student Teacher of the Year. Hannah Feinsod received the W.B. Irvin Outstanding Elementary Student Teacher of the Year.

Holland School of Science and Mathematics

The HSSM Awards Ceremony recognized outstanding math and science students on April 18. Holland Medals were given to seniors Darby Thorton for Biology, Kelsie Guinn for Communication Sciences and Disorders, Aaron Barker for Geology, and David Offner for Mathematics.

David Scott Holland Scholarships were awarded to Biology students Connor Iacomini, Lucas Lopez, and Morgan McAdams; Chemistry students Stephen Davies and Jackson Rogers; Communication Sciences and Disorders students Natalie Roye and Autumn Senteney; and Geology student Julie Deen. The David Scott Holland, Jr. Scholarship in Mathematicswas awarded to Jeremy Bowen, and the Terrence Hunter Holland Scholarship in Geology was given to Arturo Garcia.

Social Work

The Social Work Awards were held on April 26. The Everett E. & Orabeth K. Woods Endowed Social Work Scholarship was presented to Chantal Rugagaza, and the Everett E. & Orabeth K. Woods Foundation Endowed Scholarship was given to Hannah Minchew. Mary Robinson was awarded the J.L. Cole Social Work Scholarship, and Emily Gurley was given the Dan Cooper Research Excellence Award. The Doris S. Thornton Alumni Award recipient was Hannah VanHousen. The James B. Simmons Advocacy Award for Human & Civil Rights, Social, Economic, and Environmental Justice was given to Morgan Culpepper.

Logsdon School of Theology

The 2018 Logsdon Awards were held on April 27. John Brattvet received the Ray and Nancy Ellis New Testament Greek Scholarship. Madison Boboltz was given the Judge Zollie Steakley & Ruth Butler Steakley Endowed Memorial Scholarship. Katlynn Nichols & Claire Shuler were given the Dr. and Mrs. W. B. Irvin Endowed Missionary Grant. The Gordon Clinard Endowed Memorial Scholarship recipient was Nathan McEndree. McEndree was also awarded the Hancock-Potter Vocational Ministry Award.

Jackson Sanford received the Ben and Anne Bentley Endowed Scholarship in Ministerial Studies. Zach Dean received the Kelly Pigott Endowed Scholarships in Church History/Theology. Bryson Hill received the Dr. Lindell and Connie Harris Award, and David Herbst received the Werdna Williford Ministerial Award. The Publishers Book Award went to Adam Kovach, and the Mary Kay Day Memorial Award for Biblical Studies or Religion went to Masyn Evans. The Logsdon School of Theology Award recipients were Katie Earles and Carlo Serna. Serna also received the Dean’s Scholarship, and Earles received the Baugh Scholarship for Women in Ministry.

The Logsdon Seminary Graduate Student Achievement Award recipients were Raul Elizondo and Primitivo Pagayon. The Prevost Ministry Award went to Alena Vaughn. The Dan Oglesby, Jr. Memorial Award recipients were Krystin Jurries-Colgrove, Michael Moore, Brian Odom, and Clint Salmon. Thomas Estes won the Aubrey W. Smith Award, and Elizabeth Terry won The Logsdon Seminary Merit Scholarship. The Bratton Family Award went to Jonathan Davis and Eric Whitmore. The Dr. Herbert R. Howard Doctoral Fellowship recipients were Caren Goodman and Ryan Busby.

Patty Hanks Shelton School of Nursing

The Patty Hanks Shelton 35th Annual Pinning Ceremony was on May 10. The Barnabus Award was given to Jennifer Rodriguez. The Melissa Chavez Cheerful Giver award went to JoBeth Hocking. Cynthia Acock won the Head, Heart, and Hands Award. Jonathan Cadle was given the Jerry Ritter Legacy of Love Award.

These graduates and 16 other HSU students were given their official pins: Lauren Ahart, Katie Barefield, Audrey Barlowe, Andrea Coleman, Vanesa Dusabe, Kaitlyn Eastep, Kimberlynn Ellis, Shelby Gonzales, Brandy Gwinn, RheaShannon Harris, Attie Jackson, Corie Liggett, Kami McWilliams, Jordan Oldenburgh, William Roberts, and Courtney Stanfield.

To see more picture of these awards ceremonies, visit our Facebook page.