2016 Young Maston Scholars Announced

Fifteen undergraduate students from eight different Baptist universities were awarded the honor


The 16th annual T.B. Maston Lectures in Christian Ethics were held on February 22 and 23rd. On February 22nd, Dr. Don Williford, dean of the Logdon Seminary and School of Theology at Hardin-Simmons, announced this year’s Young Maston Scholar recipients. 

Each year Texas Baptist-partnering Universities nominate two students from their university to become Young Maston Scholars, an award recognizing outstanding undergraduate students for their interest in, engagement with, and integration of Christian ethics. Fifteen undergraduate students from eight different Baptist universities were named the 2016 Young Maston Scholars. These students will work and study with some of the Maston Foundation leadership.   

Young Maston Scholar honors went to T.A. Alvarado and Debbie Gonzalez representing Baptist University of the Americas, Xavier Adams and Madelyn Yarbrough representing Baylor University, J. Porter Brewer and Austin Odom representing East Texas Baptist University, Davidson Sutherland and Corbin Garner representing Hardin-Simmons University, Michael Detana and Trent Richardson representing Houston Baptist University, Kelsan Wolverton and Robert Martinez representing Howard Payne University,  Emma French and Jake Raabe representing the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor, and Jon Emmanuel Silva representing Wayland Baptist University.   

Dr. Myles Werntz, the new T.B. Maston Chair of Christian Ethics at Hardin-Simmons University, presented students with gifts recognizing their achievement.    

The Young Maston Scholar designation is awarded annually by Hardin-Simmons University, home of the T.B. Maston Chair of Christian Ethics, in conjunction with nominations made by HSU and other Texas Baptist-partnering universities, in an effort to recognize outstanding undergraduate students for their interest in, engagement with, and integration of Christian ethics. Sutherland and Garner were nominated for the honor by the faculty of HSU’s Logsdon School of Theology.

Nominations for the award are based upon a student’s demonstrated faithfulness to the ethical example of Christ; a commitment to Christian ethics lived out in theological inquiry and academic excellence; an established reputation among peers for ethical Christian leadership; and an articulated clarity in an occupational expression of ministry, though it is not required to be in a congregational setting. 

The students received formal recognition during this year’s lectures on the theme “Confessing ‘Jesus Christ is Lord’ in the World of Politics,” delivered by this year's Maston Lecturer, Dr. William H. Willimon, Professor of the Practice of Christian Ministry at Duke Divinity. Videos of the public lectures are available on the Logsdon Seminary website at www.logsdonseminary.org.  

Both the Young Maston Scholar designation and the T.B. Maston Lectures in Christian Ethics seek to honor the legacy of Dr. T.B. Maston, longtime professor of Christian Ethics and pioneering Baptist ethicist, known for his writing and teaching in the areas of biblical ethics, race relations, family life, the Christian life and vocation, church and state, and character formation. 

Photo Caption:

Top: Austin Odom, Xavier Adams, Thomas Alex Alvarado, Debbie Gonzales, Corbin Garner

Middle: Kyle Hayworth, Jake Raabe, J. Porter Brewer, Michael Detana, Davidson Sutherland 

Bottom: Emma French, Jon Emmanuel Silva, Madelyn Yarbrough, Rhett Self, Kelsan Wolverton, Bobby Martinez

About the T.B. Maston Lectures at Hardin-Simmons University’s Logsdon Seminary:

The T.B. Maston Lectures in Christian Ethics are one of many events presented by Logsdon Seminary throughout the year designed to be a resource for ministers, churches, students, and the community. The 2016 lectures are the 16th in a series featuring internationally recognized leaders, ministers, authors, and teachers in the area of Christian ethics such as Stanley Hauerwas, Stanley Grenz, Foy Valentine, Millard Fuller, J. Brent Walker, Alan Verhey, Melissa Rogers, Emmanuel McCall, Joel Gregory, William Pinson, Jr., Neville Callam, and Molly Marshall.

For more information on the T.B. Maston Lectures in Christian Ethics or to view videos of previous lectures, please visit www.logsdonseminary.org


  • A Princeton Review Best Western College
  • Council for Christian Colleges & Universities  
  • Center for Student Opportunity: Promoting a College-Bound Culture
  • US News Best Colleges
  • Military Friendly
  • college_of_christian_distinction_badge20172018
  • College Choice Best Christian Colleges and University
  • University and College Accountability Network