HSU Named for having Athletic Trainer Staff of the Year by ASC West


Photo: AT student Andrew Jacques of Abilene watches over athletes during football practice

Athletic trainers at Hardin-Simmons University have been named Staff of the Year for the West Division of the American Southwest Conference. This is the second time HSU athletic trainers have received the award.

The ASC Athletic Training Staff of the Year Award is presented by the Conference following voting by the membership’s athletic training staffs. All full-time athletic training staff members must be in good standing with professional organizations and be either National Athletic Trainers' Association or state licensed, and the head athletic trainer must have been at the institution for a minimum of two years to be considered for the award.

Head athletic trainer D.J Gililland says, “It is humbling to be honored by your peers. The credit really goes to our staff and athletic training students who take such excellent care of our student-athletes and work hard to provide quality service to our visiting teams.”

Gililland says, “I think this award means the world to our athletic training students who are the unsung heroes of our support staff. Our students work hard in the classroom and in clinical experiences as they learn to be athletic trainers. Students put in countless hours during their career at HSU. To be recognized as the part of the top staff for the year is something they can be proud of.”

Gililland explains that good athletic trainers can put in 60-plus hours per week easily, but they can do it because they are passionately driven to serve student-athletes.

“Our AT students and staff work hard to provide quality West Texas hospitality for our visiting athletic training staffs when they are on our campus,” says Gililland. “We have always taken pride in providing top quality care and hospitality to our colleagues from other universities.”

Gililland says honors and awards help to recruit quality students for our athletic training education program. Students want to be involved with a program that is successful and recognized.” Gililland says this kind of recognition also helps graduates snag some of the most coveted jobs.

HSU also received the award for the 2005-2006 academic year.

Staff Members recognized as the 2009-10 West Division Athletic Trainer Staff of the Year include:

DJ Gililland Jr., ATC, LAT – Head Athletic Trainer

Bert De La Garza, ATC, LAT, CSCS – Asst. Athletic Trainer

Dot Fero, ATC, LAT – Asst. Athletic Trainer

Wade Green, ATC, LAT – Grad. Asst. Athletic Trainer

Jessica Davenport, LAT – Grad. Asst. Athletic Trainer

Athletic Training Students:

Emily Arnold – Snyder, TX

*Christi Carr – Pleasanton, TX

Jacqui Hinsley – Garland, TX

Brittney Dillman – Parker, CO

*Becca Gault – Rockwall, TX

Kelly Johnson – Arlington, TX

Adrian Palos – Ft. Worth, TX

*Vanessa Montelongo – San Antonio, TX

Cole Barker – Paris, TX

Seth Manly – Hawley, TX

*Andrew Jacques – Abilene, TX

*Katie Kuykendall – Weatherford, TX

Rachel Simpson – San Angelo, TX

(* indicates student-athletes)

There are eight universities in the West Division: Concordia, Howard Payne, Mary-Hardin Baylor, McMurry, Schreiner, Sul Ross , Texas Lutheran, and HSU. The winner of the East Division isLeTourneau University of Longview, Texas.

For more information, go to: http://www.ascsports.org/news/2010/12/16/GEN_1216105636.aspx


  • A Princeton Review Best Western College
  • Council for Christian Colleges & Universities  
  • Center for Student Opportunity: Promoting a College-Bound Culture
  • US News Best Colleges
  • Military Friendly
  • college_of_christian_distinction_badge20172018
  • College Choice Best Christian Colleges and University
  • University and College Accountability Network