2017-2018 Student Handbook

Page 38 of 107 Updated 1.25.17 • Coma • Convulsions Treatment and Vaccinations Antibiotic treatment, if received early, can save lives, and chances of recovery are increased. However, permanent disability or death can still occur. The state requires that all incoming new students under the age of 22 must have the meningitis vaccine within the last five years and at least 10 days prior to the first day of class. Vaccinations are effective against four of the five most common bacterial types that cause 70% of the disease in the U.S. (but do not protect against all types of meningitis). Vaccinations take seven to 10 days to become effective. The cost of vaccine varies, so check with a health care provider. Vaccination is very safe. The most common side effects are redness and minor pain at injection site for up to two days. Vaccination is available at the Abilene Taylor County Public Health Department located at 850 North 6th Street, (325)-692-5600. Additional Contact Information • Contact a personal health care provider. • HSU Student Health Office, Moody Center, Room 208, 325-670-1314 • Abilene Taylor County Public Health Department, 850 North 6 th Street, 325-692-5600 • Center for Disease Control • American College Health Association Bacterial Meningitis Vaccine Requirement Texas legislation mandates that effective October 2013 every new student and new transfer under the age of 22 to any Texas university, regardless of living on campus or off campus, will be required to have a meningitis vaccination during the five-year period prior to the first class day and at least 10 days prior to beginning class. (A returning student following a break in enrollment of at least one fall or spring semester is also considered a new student.) In addition, HSU requires every new incoming student under 22 years of age to provide proof of the meningitis vaccine prior to registering for class. Exceptions to this law would be: • The student is enrolled only in online or other distance education courses; or • The student is enrolled in a continuing education course or program that is less than 360 contact hours, or continuing education corporate training; or • The student is enrolled in a dual credit course which is taught at a public or private K-12 facility not located on a higher education institution campus; or • The student is incarcerated in a Texas prison. A student is not required to submit evidence of the meningitis vaccine if the student submits to HSU: • An affidavit or certificate signed by a physician who is duly registered and licensed to practice medicine in the U.S., stating that in the physician’s opinion, the vaccine would be injurious to the health and well- being of the student; or • An affidavit signed by the student stating that the student declines the vaccine for reasons of conscience, including a religious belief. Students must use the official Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) form. It may be ordered electronically. The form is then mailed from DSHS to the student, and it may take up to 2 weeks to receive it. It must be notarized and submitted. It is the student’s responsibility to complete the DSHS from and have it notarized. The site to request the form is: https://corequest.dshs.texas.gov/ The latter exemption does not apply during a disaster or public health emergency, terrorist attack, hostile military or paramilitary action, or extraordinary law enforcement emergency declared by a Texas Department of