Mary Christopher-professor of educational studies in the Irvin School of Education
AH-104B 16225 325-670-1510

Mary M Christopher

Professor of Education Col of Hmn Scis & Eductl Stu


  • Bachelor of Science, Elementary Education, Texas Tech University, 1978
  • Master of Education, Gifted Education, University of Louisville, 1993
  • Doctor of Philosophy, Curriculum and Instruction, Texas Tech University, 2003

Dr. Mary M. Christopher serves as a professor of educational studies in the Irvin School of Education at Hardin-Simmons University. Her responsibilities include director of the Doctorate in Leadership program and program director of the Master of Education in Gifted Education.

Christopher directs the Threshold Program, a summer enrichment program for gifted children, and organizes the Gifted Institute, an annual teacher workshop related to gifted education.

As professor in educational studies, she teaches courses on the local HSU campus as well as in remote graduate programs in the Hurst-Euless-Bedford area and the Mansfield area.

Christopher’s initial degree in elementary education at Texas Tech University led to a 15-year teaching career in public and private education in Texas, Oklahoma, and Kentucky. Her master’s degree in gifted education from the University of Louisville supported her passion for meeting the academic, social, and emotional needs of gifted children and resulted in her work, not only at HSU, but as a gifted education consultant for school districts and educational service centers throughout Texas.

During her doctoral program at Texas Tech University, she enhanced her study of gifted education and focused her dissertation on appropriate services for gifted students in the Honors Program at Texas Tech University.

Her professional involvement includes leadership in the Texas Association for Gifted and Talented, the National Association for Gifted Children, the Center for Ministry Effectiveness and Educational Leadership, the TEMPO Advisory Board, Abilene Community Foundation, and Cooperative Baptist Fellows Program.

View all Faculty