• Lawrence Clayton Poets & Writers Series

    Andrew Hudgins

    Poet and Essayist

    Andrew Hudgins has published five books of poetry with Houghton Mifflin: Babylon in a Jar (1998), The Glass Hammer (1995), The Never-Ending (1991), After the Lost War (1988), and Saints and Strangers (1985). A new collection, Ecstatic in the Poison was published by The Overlook Press/Sewanee Writers' Series in 2003. Hudgins is also the author of a collection of literary essays, The Glass Anvil, which was published by the University of Michigan Press in 1997. Saints and Strangers was one of three finalishts for the 1985 Pulitzer Prize in Poetry; After the Lost War received the 1989 Poets' Prize for the best book of poetry published in 1988, and The Never-Ending was one of five finalists for the National Book Award in 1991.

    Andrew Hudgins' poems have appeared in many literary journals, including The American Poetry Review, The Kenyon Review, The New Yorker, and The Paris Review. His literary and personal essays have appeared in The Chicago Review, The New England Review, the Washington Post Magazine, and other journals.

    Hudgins was a Wallace Stegner Fellow in poetry at Stanford University (1983-84) and the Alfred C. Hodder fellow at Princeton University (1989-90), and he has received fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts (1986, 1992) and the Ingram Merrill Foundation (1987). In 1997, he received both the Frederick Bock Prize from Poetry and the Ohioiana Poetry Award for lifetime contribution to poetry in ohio. He was awarded the Hanes Prize for poetry from The Fellowship of Southern Writers in 1995, and in 1988 he received the Witter Bynner Prize from the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters. In 1988, Hudgins was elected into the Texas Institute of Letters.

    Andrew Hudgins joined the faculty of Ohio State University in 2001 as a professor of English. He is presently Humanitites Distinguished Professor in English. hudgins received an A.B. in English and history from Huntingdon College in 1969, an M.A. in English from the University of Alabama in 1976, and an M.F.A. from the University of Iowa, Writers' Workshop, in 1983.

  • A Princeton Review Best Western College
  • Council for Christian Colleges & Universities  
  • Center for Student Opportunity: Promoting a College-Bound Culture
  • US News Best Colleges
  • Military Friendly
  • college_of_christian_distinction_badge20172018
  • College Choice Best Christian Colleges and University
  • University and College Accountability Network