• Provost Search

    President Eric Bruntmyer has announced the selection of two new Provost Search Advisory Committees as the process for an individual to permanently fill the position of Provost at HSU moves forward.

    The first advisory committee is broadly representative of HSU and is comprised equally of faculty and staff. Members of this committee are:

    • Dr. John Davis, Associate Professor of Management; Faculty President and Committee Co-Chair
    • Mr. Grant Greenwood, Director of Undergraduate Admissions and Recruiting; Staff Senate President and Committee Co-Chair
    • Mr. Wade Ashby, Instructor of Computer Science
    • Rev. Travis Craver, Director of Chapel and Spiritual Formation
    • Dr. Travis Frampton, Professor of Biblical Studies and Associate Provost
    • Dr. Rosario Hall, Assistant Professor of Foreign Languages and Department Head
    • Dr. Scott Hamm, Assistant Professor of Education and Director of Online Education
    • Mrs. Kacey Higgins, University Registrar
    • Dr. Kelvin Kelley, Associate Professor of Theology
    • Mrs. Stacey Martin, Dean of Students
    • Mr. Tim McCarry, Director of Facilities
    • Mr. Marcus Wood, Women's Head Soccer Coach

    The second advisory committee is representative of university leadership and is comprised of all members from both the University’s Administrative and Deans Councils. Members of this committee are:

    • Administrative Council
      • Mrs. Vicki House, Vice President of Enrollment Management
      • Dr. Jodie McGaughey, Vice President of Finance
      • Dr. Dave Rozeboom, Vice President of Student Life
      • Mr. Mike Hammack, Vice President of Advancement
    • Deans Council
      • Dr. Perry Kay Brown, Dean of the College of Human Sciences and Educational Studies
      • Dr. Stephen Cook, Dean of the Cynthia Ann Parker College of Liberal Arts
      • Dr. Robert Ellis, Interim Dean of Logsdon School of Theology and Logsdon Seminary
      • Dr. Sheila Garland, Dean of the Patty Hanks Shelton School of Nursing
      • Dr. Nancy Kucinski, Dean of Graduate Studies
      • Dr. Chris McNair, Dean of the Holland School of Sciences and Mathematics and Interim Provost
      • Mr. Mike Monhollon, Dean of the Kelly College of Business and Interim Associate Provost
      • Laura Pogue, Dean of General Education
      • Dr. Rob Tucker, Dean of the College of Fine Arts
      • Mrs. Elizabeth Worley, Dean of Libraries

    According to Bruntmyer, both advisory committees will have key responsibilities in the process of collecting vitas and reviewing, interviewing, vetting, and suggesting candidates for the President’s consideration.

    “Though having two advisory committees may be a little unorthodox, it will more fully allow for the affirmation of finalists in a way which empowers our entire campus,” said Bruntmyer. “The Provost is an essential leadership position at HSU, and it’s critical that we explore candidates through a corporately representative process which builds trust with one another.”

    The Provost role was previously held by Dr. Thomas V. Brisco, who announced in the Fall his intent to retire from the position, but continuing with the university in a part-time role and as an ex-officio member of the advisory search committees. Dr. Christopher McNair, Dean of the Holland School of Sciences and Mathematics, was appointed Interim Provost by Bruntmyer in December.

    A job description is posted on the HSU website and candidates are encouraged to apply directly with the University. The goal of the search process is to have a new Provost in place by June 1, 2018.

  • A Princeton Review Best Western College
  • Council for Christian Colleges & Universities  
  • Center for Student Opportunity: Promoting a College-Bound Culture
  • US News Best Colleges
  • Military Friendly
  • college_of_christian_distinction_badge20172018
  • College Choice Best Christian Colleges and University
  • University and College Accountability Network