Student Leaders Honored at Student Life Awards Banquet

May 9, 2019 Lucila Decia, Staff Writer

(ABILENE, Texas)–An annual celebration at Hardin-Simmons allows the school to honor and recognize the effort and merit of outstanding leaders from different departments and organizations. Last week, students of all classifications were recognized for their service, example, and attitude at the Student Life Awards Banquet.

A group of award recipients pose for a picture after recieving their awards.
A group of award recipients pose for a picture after receiving their awards.

“Student Life at HSU is vibrant and growing mainly because of the amazing student leaders that serve HSU. This event serves as an opportunity to highlight just a few of these students. Staff and students nominated these students who were honored,” says associate dean of students Megan Baldree.

Student Life Cowboy of the Year

This year Parker Johnson recieved this award, due to his involvement in Chapel Worship Team, Student Government, and Residence Life.

This award is given to those who has made notable contributions toward the HSU Community, demonstrated impact on University programs, services, or activities, and has contributed to the development of leadership qualities in his fellow students. This award also recognizes outstanding leadership in academic and co-curricular involvements and is to be awarded to a male of any classification.

Student Life Cowgirl of the Year

Granted to Liz Bygel, a Business Administration major from Lubbock, Texas, this award recognizes

Student leaders from all across campus attended to cheer on their peers.
Student leaders from all across campus attended to cheer on their peers.

outstanding leadership in academic and co-curricular involvements and is to be awarded to a female of any classification.

This year’s Cowgirl of the Year is a leader in every club, job, and project she is involved with. She cares deeply for Hardin-Simmons, and it is shown through her actions. She does an excellent job of connecting with people from different walks of life and parts of the campus. She is known a good leader and a genuine friend.

James B. Simmons Award

This year’s James B. Simmons Award recipient is South Korea native Hanna Kim. Kim was one of the members of the first Women’s Lacrosse team at HSU and has served as president of the club for the 2018-2019 school year. She has served community by joining the service fraternity, Alpha Phi Omega. She is also involved on campus as a resident assistant, and does all these things while also maintaining fantastic grades. She is even in the honor society, Gamma Beta Phi.

This student life award for distinguished leadership, scholarship, and service honors a graduating senior for leadership contributions made to the Hardin-Simmons University community during his or her undergraduate career. The highest honor presented by the Student Life Division, this award recognizes student excellence as a leader who embodies the ideals expressed in the Student Life Pillars, who has worked to identify their most significant thought, and has made strides to accomplish it while at HSU.

“I believe that when we recognize the good work of individuals it shows that we are committed to and striving for excellence. Our student leaders are not only successfully leading their peers, but they are also excelling in the classroom and on the field. We love any chance we get to honor their striving and thriving,” says Holly Edwards, director of Residence Life.

Students were honored with recognition as follows:

Outstanding SWAT Member of the Year: Chanae Pitts-Richardson

Female Wrangler of the Year: Lindsey Peace

Male Wrangler of the Year: Connor Iacomini

BSM Leaders of the Year: Kamri Hickerson and Brandon Miller

Outstanding Spark Members: Abbie Housden, Karina Hau, Autumn Senteney, Amy Pavilec, and Emily Stone

Outstanding Sabers Members: Randy Seng, Jesper Jiang, and Amber Ramzanali

Female RA of the Year: Dori Rembecki

Male RA of the Year: Jack Rowland

Outstanding Chaplain: Cossette Rodriguez

Female Greek Member of the Year: Macee Hall

Male Greek Member of the Year: Jackson Sanford

First-Year Mentors of the Year: Lucas Lopez and Rylee Powell

Female Intramural MVP: Elizabeth Burroughs

Male Intramural MVP: Seth Tiemeyer

UREC Employee of the Year: Ariel Thomas

Six White Horse Rider of the Year: Samantha Pennese

SGA Member of the Year: Lauren Monteleone