New Trustees Elected to HSU Board of Trustees

Hardin-Simmons University announces the addition of eight new members to the Board of Trustees.


Hardin-Simmons University announces the appointment of eight new members to the Board of Trustees.

HSU and the current Board of Trustees are happy to welcome new board members during the Spring 2015 meeting.

Martha BrooksMartha Brooks of Granbury is the former Assistant Principal of Abilene High School and a Hardin-Simmons graduate from the class of 1970. She is an active member of the Acton Baptist Church and an active volunteer in Dallas, Abilene, and Grandbury.

H Lynn CraftH. Lynn Craft of Dallas is the former CEO of the Baptist Foundation of Texas and received his honorary doctorate from HSU in 2004. His 44 years with the Baptist Foundation of Texas ranks him among the longest-tenured Texas Baptist agency heads in history and he is an active member of First Baptist Church in Athens, TX. 

Jeremy EdmistonJeremy Edmiston of Grand Prairie is the Vice President of Pinnacle Property Management Services and an active member of The Community at Lake Ridge in Mansfield, TX. 

William GibsonWilliam R. Gibson of Frisco is the former President and CFO of a line of convenience stores and a 1985 graduate of HSU. He is an active member of First Baptist Church in Carrolton, and is a certified public accountant. 

Joy JordanJoy Jordan is a one of Abilene's top realtors and 1963 graduate of Hardin-Simmons. She is an active member of First Baptist Church Abilene, and she is an active community leader and volunteer. 

Laura MooreLaura Moore of Abilene is the Director of the Grace Museum and a 1986 and 1987 graduate of Hardin-Simmons. She is an active member of Pioneer Drive Baptist Church and is a former member of the Abilene City Council. 

David MorganDavid Morgan of Harker Heights is the Pastor of Trinity Baptist Church and a 1976 graduate of HSU. He was elected by the BGCT to the board and also holds a position on the T.B. Maston Foundation Board. 

Phil WilsonPhil Wilson of Austin is the General Manager for the Lower Colorado River Authority, former Executive Director of TxDOT, Secretary of State and a 1990 graduate of Hardin-Simmons. He is an active member of Austin Baptist Church and is the youngest inductee into the HSU Hall of Leaders.

The Board of Trustees is the policy-making board for the university and is composed of 36 members. Board membership involves an especially close partnership with the administrative leadership of the university. The Board makes necessary bylaws changes, grants tenure and promotions of faculty, approves the annual budget and the annual audit, confers degrees, and does, performs, or delegates all necessary acts to carry into effect the objects of the university.

The trustees are custodians of the university’s mission. Trustees affirm and maintain the mission and purpose of the institution by setting policy, hiring and evaluating the president, and appraising the overall performance of the institute.

For more information about the Board of Trustees visit


  • A Princeton Review Best Western College
  • Council for Christian Colleges & Universities  
  • Center for Student Opportunity: Promoting a College-Bound Culture
  • US News Best Colleges
  • Military Friendly
  • college_of_christian_distinction_badge20172018
  • College Choice Best Christian Colleges and University
  • University and College Accountability Network