All remaining classes on Wednesday, March 4 are cancelled. Be alert to possible delays tomorrow.


  • 2012-2013 Award Recipients
    for HSU Department of Theatre

    Faculty-Directed Full-Length Play Awards

    • Supporting Actress: Candace Martinez (Rabbit Hole)
    • Supporting Actor: Branden Loera (Twelfth Night)
    • Actress: Katie Key (Rabbit Hole)  
    • Actor: Samuel Cress (Twelfth Night)

    Musical Theatre Awards

    • Supporting Actress: Kelsey Prestidge (Hello, Dolly!)
    • Supporting Actor: Dakota Davis (Hello, Dolly!)
    • Actress: Ellen Eberhardt (Hello, Dolly!)
    • Actor: Jeremiah Johnson (Hello, Dolly!)

    Outstanding Newcomer

    • Katie Key
    • Colby Savell

    Departmental Service Awards

    • Anna Warren
    • Cody Herrera

    Academic Achievement Awards:

    • Katie Brown
    • Katie Key
    • Courtney Mentzel
    • Kelsey Prestidge

    Technical Achievement Awards:

    • Samuel Cress: Lighting for Twelfth Night  
    • Dakota Davis: Props for Red  
    • Anna Warren: Props for Hello, Dolly!  

    Ruth Ann Hall Award
    The second highest award given in the department, it is given to an actor who has grown throughout their time at HSU. It is given in honor of former communication/theatre professor Ruth Ann Hall Millsap. This student’s name will be forever listed on a plaque in the lobby of Van Ellis Theatre.

    • Shawn Robertson

    Artist of Dionysus Award
    The highest award given in the department, it is given to a graduating senior who excels in service to the department, university and the profession of theatre. This student's’ name will be forever listed on plaques in the lobby of Van Ellis Theatre.

    • Kelsey Prestidge

    DirectFEST 2013 Award Recipients for HSU Department of Theater

    Student-Directed One-Act Play Awards

    • Outstanding Stage Manager: Braiden Fisher
    • Outstanding Newcomer: Dakota Davis
    • Supporting Actor: Samuel Cress – Wanda’s Visit  
    • Supporting Actress:Katie Brown – Asylum
    • Actor: Dakota Davis – The Dreaming  
    • Actress: Candace Martinez – Gidion’s Knot  
    • Director: Debra Crawford – The Dreaming
    • Play: Wanda’s Visit  
  • A Princeton Review Best Western College  
  • Council for Christian Colleges & Universities  
  • Center for Student Opportunity: Promoting a College-Bound Culture  
  • US News Best Colleges  
  • The Chronicle on Higher Education, Great Colleges to Work For: 2014  
  • Military Friendly  
  • Colleges of Distinction  
  • University and College Accountability Network